Sen. Ifeanyi Ubah Re-elected As Anambra FA Chairman.


In compliance with the Nigeria Football Federation directive that state football associations should organise elections into their boards, the Anambra State Football Association Sunday concluded its election and incumbent chairman, Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, was reelected as chairman for a second term in an election conducted through electronic voting.

In election result signed by Jude Anayadufu, chairman of the 2020 ANSFA electoral committee and issued by Rev. Fr Coach Obinna Dike, Head of Media and Publicity, Monday morning, Senator Ubah, the sole financier of Nigeria Professional Football League NPFL side, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, and his vice Jude Obikwelu, a long time vice chairman of the association were returned unopposed.

Philip Balepo, a veteran journalist was elected into the board as a first timer. Other elected members of the board in the 26 man delegate election were Joe Amene, Uduh Kingsley , Amuzie Cyprain, Obiefune Collins, Adinnu Okezie and Ada Edward.

It would be recalled that the Anambra FA elections which were originally scheduled for July 27 and July 28 were suspended on the orders of the state government which said it would violate the extant Covid-19 laws in the state.

The electoral committee communicated the development to the ANSFA which met and gave it powers to conduct the election through virtual means, this brings the election profess which started on June 1 to a conclusion.

However, elections were also conducted into the Local Football Councils where 20 Councils were successfully concluded without an Orumba South where forms were returned late.

Credit: Alloy Chukwuemeka


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here