Akwa Ibom Assembly Reinstates Suspended Uyo LG Chairperson


The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has reinstated the suspended Chairman of Uyo Local Government Council, Hon. Imo Okon, with immediate effect.

Recall that the House had on May 29, 2020, following series of Petitions brought against Hon. Imo Okon, suspended the Council Boss indefinitely and directed the House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs to investigate the matter and report back within one month.

Presenting the Committee’s Report at Plenary on Thursday, the Chairman, Rt. Hon. Mark Esset, revealed that aside refusal to pay the Acting Chairman’s entitlements, the suspended Chairman had also refused to pay furniture allowance and other monies to some members of Uyo Legislative Council.

He pointed out that the suspended Chairman had apologized for the discrepancies in the management of the Council’s Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) and promised to follow the approved guidelines as advised by the Head of Service and Head of Finance.

The House, after considering the Committee’s recommendations at the Committee of the Whole, ruled that henceforth, all revenue of Uyo Local Government Council be paid into the approved revenue collection accounts, as provided for by extant laws and guidelines.

The House also resolved that steps be taken to ensure that all allowances and entitlements of the Councillors and Supervisors are paid within three months and evidence of compliance be made available to the House through the House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

Having agreed to comply with the directives of the House, the Lawmakers resolved that the suspended Chairman be reinstated with effect from Thursday, July 16, 2020.

The House also received names of Commissioners and Special Advisers Nominees sent in by Governor Udom Emmanuel for screening.

The Nominees include Prof. Eno James Ibanga, Hon. Frank Archibong, Dr Augustine Vincent Umoh, Dr (Ms) Ini Nathaniel Adiakpan, Mrs Enobong UdemeAbasi Mbobo, Barr. Ini Ememobong Essien,
Elder Amanam Nkanga and Dr. Imo Moffat.

Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey referred the List to the House Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions for further action and to report back within one week.

The House also received Motions on ‘Concern over the State of Bridges in Nsit Ibom State Constituency in Akwa Ibom State: A Call for Immediate Action’, ‘Gradual Pace of Infrastructural Deterioration at the 65-Year Old Centre of Academic Excellence, Salvation Army Secondary School, Akai Ubium: A Passionate Call for Government’s Reclamation and ‘A Motion Calling on Relevant Government Agencies for Immediate Intervention on the Ikono-Uyo, Ukpom-Abak Road by Pepsi, Idoro Road to Make it Motorable for Road Commuters’, from Hon. Ifiok Udoh (Nsit Ibom), Hon. Otobong Bob (Nsit Ubium) and Hon. Udeme Otong (Abak), respectively.

Similarly, the Akwa Ibom State Residents’ Registration Agency Law, 2020, sponsored by Hon. Godwin Ekpo (Ibiono Ibom) and the Akwa Ibom State Administration of Criminal Justice Bill, 2020, sponsored by Rt. Hon. (Barr.) Aniefiok Dennis, were read the second time at Plenary and committed to the Committee on Youth and Sports and Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions for further legislative action.

Meanwhile, the House has adjourned plenary till Thursday, July 23, 2020.

Press Unit,
Office of the Speaker,
Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here